RSS Feed

Week 11 Response: Andrew Stadel

Blog post: We don’t need no stinkin’ homework

Response:

The subject of homework has always been one that I can never agree on a strategy for. I, like, Andrew agree that there should never be incentives offered to do it. I believe this for a few reasons: I would feel more comfortable if the students were completing the practice for the class with access to my help, the students need to learn to take responsibility for their own learning and they should not be rewarded for practice; this defeats the purpose because they need to be able to make mistakes and if they’re being given marks for homework then they will not feel comfortable to do so. I would love to adopt SBG into my practice one day and so I’m open to any ideas to motivate students to do homework and value their learning. The most valuable part of this blog post I found was actually the comments section. Andrew seems to also be struggling with ways to motivate students to do homework (and he only assigns a few questions!) and there were some excellent ideas in the comments section. I absolutely love Dan’s idea of doing peer review of homework the next day. To me this seems like the perfect solution! This is a great way to incorporate assessment as learning, as well! What I love most is that this is a way to motivate students to do homework in a way that is still super beneficial for their learning. This will help students improve their mathematical communication, their reasoning, and so much more. I can’t wait to try this myself!

About Nicole Bencze

I am an awesome newish math teacher who calls Delta School District her home. I'm crazy in love with math and there's no place in this world I'd rather be than in a classroom showing my kidlets how amazing it can be! Outside of teaching I'm quite the coffee addict and I live inside the fandom universe falling in love again and again with Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Mortal Instruments, Twilight, Hunger Games, Percy Jackson, Game of Thrones, Sherlock, Doctor Who, and a ton more. My cat is my best friend and I'm way too invested in TV shows!

One response »

  1. In full agreement here – I hope you do try the peer idea and I hope it works well for you. (2.5)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

