RSS Feed

Week 10 Response: Kate Nowak

Blog post: Review and practice: add em up

Response:

I picked this specific blog post because it’s actually one that I read and tried during my own practicum. I knew that my students needed some time to work through review problems in class but wanted to do so in a way that they would feel comfortable working together and stay on task. This activity worked fabulously! It was a nice break from the usual textbook activities (even though I just took the questions from the text) but I was able to differentiate their difficulty level based on which worksheet it fell on. I also loved the idea that students had to check their own answers in a way that didn’t directly tell them what was wrong.. they instead had to go back and discuss the answers with their group and work towards identifying their mistake themselves. When I tried this in my practicum I did encounter a few problems at the start where students kept asking me if their answer was right, but eventually they became more independent with their learning. All in all, this was a fabulous review activity, it was different enough to keep the students on track the whole class, and it really optimized their thinking and review skills. I would definitely do this again!

About Nicole Bencze

I am an awesome newish math teacher who calls Delta School District her home. I'm crazy in love with math and there's no place in this world I'd rather be than in a classroom showing my kidlets how amazing it can be! Outside of teaching I'm quite the coffee addict and I live inside the fandom universe falling in love again and again with Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Mortal Instruments, Twilight, Hunger Games, Percy Jackson, Game of Thrones, Sherlock, Doctor Who, and a ton more. My cat is my best friend and I'm way too invested in TV shows!

One response »

  1. Very glad to hear you tried it and that it worked so well for you. It definitely has benefits beyond just the reviewing of concepts. I wonder how it may be extended to include questions that aren’t just numerical response. Maybe there could be some kind of joint problem to work on after they’ve successfully matched the ‘sum’. (2.5)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

