RSS Feed

Week 4 Response: Michael Pershan

Blog Post: Becoming great at teaching

Response:

As I was browsing through Michael’s blog posts, the title of this one made me stop and read. Becoming great at teaching is something I’m after, so maybe he can give me some key pointers to bring into my own practice! I admire his train of thought as he progresses through this post; that he came from a place with ideas and exercises to try to become great at teaching, but eventually evolving into a complete new set as he really dug into what he was really doing. I love that this post not only gives me great pointers and advice going forward, but it modeled exactly what I should be doing!

This post really made me think about a few things: first of all I had always defined great teaching to myself to be influential and engaging lessons that students truly enjoyed participating in. It’s knowing what is best for your students and helping them to achieve their own personal success. During my practicum I sought out ways to do this by observing a lot of other teacher and reading a lot of other’s ideas. But this post makes me think that what I really should have been doing was spending more time planning for the students instead of my SA, FA, or SFU. If I was able to put more focus on that sole purpose, then great teaching will more easily emerge. I am committed to doing so, and I love the perspective that Michael’s post has brought to my attention. It’s more than just planning for the students. What I really need is a good starting point with great lessons and curriculum material. I struggled so much with my planning and how to go about planning such lessons and I fear that a lot of success was perhaps lost while I was trying to figure things out. I spent so much time trying to plan activities and then fit the math into them but things began to turn around when I played with the math first and fit an activity to the math. This created the memorable lessons that had my students excited to do math!

Where was this blog post when I was doing my practicum?! Regardless, it was nice to have some reinforcement for my ideas as well as practical places to start my development into a great teacher.

About Nicole Bencze

I am an awesome newish math teacher who calls Delta School District her home. I'm crazy in love with math and there's no place in this world I'd rather be than in a classroom showing my kidlets how amazing it can be! Outside of teaching I'm quite the coffee addict and I live inside the fandom universe falling in love again and again with Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Mortal Instruments, Twilight, Hunger Games, Percy Jackson, Game of Thrones, Sherlock, Doctor Who, and a ton more. My cat is my best friend and I'm way too invested in TV shows!

Leave a Reply

